Critique of Chinese Culture, Western Culture by Dr Tai P. NG

Critique of

Chinese Culture, Western Culture

 

—– Original Message —–

From: Tai P. Ng

To: Lihuen Kwan

Sent: Monday, September 15, 2008 9:57 AM

Subject: Re: Sunday, 2008.9.21: Chinese vs Western Culture: Differences in Thought

Hi Kwan:

Thanks for sending out the poster.

Actually I have a website you can refer to:  http://www.taipng.com

As for asking questions, please allow me to say: the attitude of the questioner is more important than the question itself.  From the few times that I have seen you in action, you have turned questions into confrontation which is not what I want to see. Please call me if you don’t understand what I try to say.

Another friendly advice I have for you is:  please try to see the big picture when you read my book and let go of the small details.  You’ll enjoy it a lot more.  The main objective of my book is to put together a framework within which we can start a cultural dialogue.  This is not an academic thesis.  The bibliography lists the books that I have read that have influenced my thinking, but not quote for quote.  So just forget looking for them.

As for the two questions you have for me, please open the attachment.  This is an article I wrote and will be distributed to the audience after my talk. I will talk more about yin and yang and Chinese medicine in my presentation.

Regards,

Tai

On Sun, Sep 14, 2008 at 9:44 PM, Lihuen Kwan <kwanlihuen@telus.net> wrote:

Dear friends,

You are invited to my friend Dr Tai P. NG and his daughter’s (the seasoned and the fresh) talk on “Chinese vs. Western Culture: Differences in Thought.”   Please open attachment for the poster for the talk. 

Agassi teaches “No questions, no lecture.”  Please bring your questions, to make the talk interesting for yourself and me.  I hate one-way long-winded lectures, even by Newton, who had only one student listening to him “lecture”. 

To prepare for your question, please Google “Chinese Culture, Western Culture and Tai P. Ng.”

I shall treat you to ice-cream, if you ask a question.

See you there,

Kwan

____________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Tai,

Please Google “Regenerating Universe and Adam W. L. CHAN”. 

I hope to come to your talk “Chinese vs. Western Culture: Differences in Thought”, on Sunday, September 21st from 2:30 – 4:30 p.m.  Thanks for the invitation.

You have given Professor Joel Kupperman (Learning from Asian Philosophy, 1999) and Professor Daniel Overmyer’s (Religion in China Today, 2003) names and the titles of their books in your bibliography, but I cannot find their names in the index of your book.  On which pages of your book have you quoted them?  I want to know of their ideas and insights which you find most important?  Please tell me.  Slow as I am, this will help me and my friends, with less effort, and cheaper. 

 Your book praises Chinese philosophical development as peaceful, harmonious, organic, and “evolutionary”, whereas Western philosophical development is confrontational, radical, and “revolutionary”.   (E.g.. p. 80.)   What you have regarded as a great Chinese merit, my teacher Professor Joseph Agassi pointed it out as “surreptitious changes,”–a great demerit.   Agassi was new in Hong Kong in 1960, teaching us (Western) Philosophy, and he right away noticed this as the greatest fault of Chinese thinking.   I can even say that this is exactly why China was incapable of developing great science.  It takes millions of years for organic apes to evolve to human beings, whereas it only takes decades for scientific theories to revolutionize from Copernicus to Einstein and beyond. 

How can we say that Western thinking has to learn from Chinese thinking?  

I love your beautiful story of the Ice Age giving the Chinese a great advantage for cultural development.    But then I think slavish Chinese surreptitious thinking have easily converted the advantage into tedious nonsense, e.g. Kwan: “Chinese Food Sense and Nonsense”, originally entitled “The Yin Yang of Food”, The Georgia Straight, 11-18 April 1974; similarly with “Yin Yang and the Five Elements”,  the same theory for Chinese Medicine and Chinese astrology!)  How can we say that Western Medicine has to learn from Chinese Medicine? 

I look forward to your answers at your talk on September 21st.  

Thanks for your invitation.

With best regards,

Kwan

KWAN Lihuen (LH Kwan)      
88-2768 West King Edward Ave
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6L 1T7
Phone 1-604-222-3033

—– Original Message —–

From: Tai P. Ng

To: Lihuen Kwan

Sent: Sunday, September 14, 2008 7:09 AM

Subject: Re: Regenerating Universe & Astrology

Hello Kwan:

How can I get to read the Theory of your friend online?

FYI, I’ll be giving a talk at Richmond Library next Sunday (see the attachment).  It’ll be given in English.

You and your friends are welcome to attend.

Regards

Tai

On Sun, Sep 14, 2008 at 5:04 AM, Lihuen Kwan <kwanlihuen@telus.net> wrote:

My dear Adam,

You asked me to criticize your theory of The Regenerating Universe (1988)(2008 online.)

I can only say that I enjoyed reading your 1988 book, finding it readable and interesting.  You succeeded explaining your theory in language that even a secondary school student can understand.  This is what my mentor Professor Joseph Agassi required of me in writing philosophy.  You succeeded.    

I have found your new edition of your theory online not as fresh and beautiful as the 1998 virgin expression. 

My question is: How can we test your theory? 

You took care of me like your younger brother in London in 1962.  For this friendship, I shall ask my friend Dr Tai P. NG and my mentor Professor Joseph Agassi to look at your Theory online and give you their criticisms.

For our study of astrology, Western for you and Chinese for me, I ask you to read Professor Agassi’s chapter “Wild Goose Chase” in his book Science and Culture (The Netherlands: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2003.)  It is crucial.

I also ask you to read and criticize Dr Tai P. NG’s views on Chinese Culture, Western Culture (New York: iUniverse, 2007.)  Tai has a simple and interesting geological theory explaining why Chinese culture differs from Western culture.

You are yourself very Chinese and very Western at the same time, and your science background enables you to understand Tai’s science part of his book better than I.  

Good health and happiness!

Yours sincerely,

Kwan

KWAN Lihuen (LH Kwan)      
88-2768 West King Edward Ave
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6L 1T7
Phone 1-604-222-3033

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

